Commission Team Members

Continuing the legacy

DuShun Scarbrough

Executive Director (501) 683-1300


DuShun L. Scarbrough, Sr. is a native of Little Rock, Arkansas, who was educated in the Little Rock School District. At the young age of fifteen, Scarbrough began his community involvement in a youth speak-out conference entitled “Death of a Race”. Thereafter, he continued his zealous quest by participating in youth seminars and preventive programs. Reared by his grandmother and aunts, it was instilled in him that he could achieve anything if he kept God first. After graduating from high school he went on to acquire a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Psychology from Philander Smith College. During his studies at Philander Smith College, he was a recipient of the JTPA Scholarship. Eager to acquire an astute blend of practical and theoretical skills, Scarbrough left Little Rock in 1999 to further his edification, desiring to someday return to Little Rock and continue serving his community.


Scarbrough currently holds a Master of Business Administration Degree from Webster University in Orlando, Florida and a Master of Counselor Education Degree from Florida A&M University. He is also a Class of 2011 recipient of the Harvard Kennedy School of Government's Driving Government Performance and a Class of 2014 recipient of the Harvard Kennedy School of Government's Leaders of the 21st Century Certification.

Scarbrough’s goal as Executive Director is to cooperatively, keep Commissioners informed of staff progress and community unification, in accordance with the views of the Governor of Arkansas. Scarbrough believes in the organization’s mission and vision of promoting racial harmony, multicultural diversity, and social justice for the improvement and equality of all Arkansans.

Scarbrough’s personal vision for the Arkansas Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission is for Arkansans of all ethnic groups and economic levels to unite and work together on various issues of the community. “With the help and support of Arkansas businesses and residents, we can serve as agents of change. We need not only utilize Dr. King’s tenants but also teach his legacy. We must solidify our youth’s intellectualism, and elevate our effectiveness as parents, educators, and role models. We, as the community, must impart knowledge of nonviolence and racial harmony to our new generation so that they are equipped to forever promote the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.”

In April of 2014, Mr. Scarbrough initiated and garnered the participation of Arkansans to assist in healing race relations in Harrison, Arkansas, a nationally renowned city that carries the stigma of racism and the national headquarters of the Ku Klux Klan. While in Harrison, Mr. Scarbrough hosted a peace march, unity concert, and a mock funeral to bury hatred and racism.
In January, Gannett affiliate “Today’s THV” announced that the Arkansas Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission hosted the largest day of service in the nation at the Benton Event Center. The Arkansas Martin Luther King Jr. Commission made the event focus around volunteering, encouraging people to engage in their communities, not just today, but for the entire year.

Under Mr. Scarbrough’s leadership, The Arkansas Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission proudly announced Arkansas’ first commemorative license plate dedicated to the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The commemorative license plate is available at local revenue offices throughout the state of Arkansas. Arkansas is one of five states in the nation that now offers a license plate commemorating the legacy of Dr. King.

On Sunday, March 8, 2015, Mr. Scarbrough joined thousands who crossed the Edmund Pettus Bridge to commemorate the historic “Bloody Sunday” march as marchers set out to march from Selma to capital City Montgomery, Alabama to convince Governor George Wallace to consider extending voting rights to African-Americans.

The Arkansas State Employees Association recognized Mr. Scarbrough as one of five finalists in the coveted Arkansas State Employee of the Year Award in August 2015 for his tenure, hard work, and diligence in serving the great people of Arkansas.

In response to the breakdown of relations between law enforcement and civilians, Mr.Scarbrough produced a series of public service announcements to improve communication and promote healing and resolution.

Mr. Scarbrough is married to Angela Scarbrough and the couple shares three children DuShun Scarbrough, Jr., Kennedy Scarbrough, and Braxton Scarbrough.

DuShun Scarbrough's Initiatives:

Honorable Asa

Honorable Asa Hutchinson

Arkansas' 46th Governor


Asa Hutchinson was sworn in as the 46th Governor of Arkansas in January, and immediately set in motion his plan to bring more jobs and economic growth to his native state.

 Governor Hutchinson kept a major campaign promise by working to pass the biggest income tax rate cut in state history.  His initiative to require computer-coding classes in every public high school makes Arkansas a national leader and signals to businesses everywhere that our students will be prepared for the 21st century economy.

 As part of his strategy to market Arkansas and attract more jobs and businesses to the state, Governor Hutchinson already has met with CEOs of major industries across the globe from Silicon Valley to Germany and Cuba.

 On the national stage, Governor Hutchinson has been a key leader in education, energy, and security.

 The Governor is chairperson of the Southern Regional Education Board, chairperson of the Southern States Energy Board, and vice chairperson of the National Governors Association Homeland Security and Public Safety Committee.

Before being elected governor, Asa Hutchinson served as Director of the Drug Enforcement Administration and as the first Undersecretary of the Department of Homeland Security.  Voters in Arkansas’s Third District also elected him to Congress three times.

 President Reagan as the nation’s youngest U.S. attorney appointed a graduate of the University of Arkansas law school, Asa Hutchinson, at age 31.

 He and his wife Susan have been married 43 years.  They have four children and five grandchildren.